Getting convicted of DUI, or driving under the influence as it is known in most other states, is called operating while intoxicated, or OWI, in our state. However, this is not the only difference in Michigan drunk driving law. Michigan’s “Super Drunk” law enhances penalties for motorists convicted of driving drunk with a blood alcohol content of 0.17% or more.
Normally, for a first OWI conviction, one faces a fine from $100 to $500. In addition, if convicted, one faces one or more of the following: up to 93-days incarceration or up to 360 hours of community service; 30 day driver’s license suspension, with license restrictions after for 150 days; vehicle immobilization or an ignition interlock; or six points on the convicted person’s driving record.
Enacted in 2010, the “Super Drunk” law increases these penalties. Even for a first time offense, these increased penalties can include jail time, up to 180 days; a fine of $200 to $700, 360 community-service hours, and a year’s driver’s license suspension. Even after the suspension, a convicted person may have to have an ignition interlock device installed on all vehicles they own or intends to operate and six points on the convicted person’s driving record.
With each conviction or violation, the consequences only increase, including up to a $5,000 fine and 5 years imprisonment. Depending on the circumstances of the charges and arrest, those charged face anything from a fine to license suspension to jail time. This can destroy one’s life, which is why seeking and attaining professional help as soon as possible is so important.